(Nearly) Raw Vegan Chocolate Mousse!

Now I admit, I coulddd have left this exactly as it was over at Averie’s site Love Veggies and Yoga as it is pretty damn amazing!! However seeing as i’m not really vegan I couldn’t resist tweaking it a little and making it just that little bit more sinful! ;)

It’s still crazy simple to make, choc full of ‘good fats’ and tasty as hell! Anddd for those of you out there that are strictly vegan first things first, well done for your willpower! And secondly all you have to do to keep it raw vegalicious is leave out the chocolate! Simples!

Nearly Raw Vegan Chocolate Mousse

Ingredients for 2 smallish servings (It’s extremely rich so it’s probably all you will need to satisfy those cravings!)

1 Avocado

1/4 Cup of Honey or Agave

1/8 Cup of Cocoa Powder

1 Tablespoon Extra Virgin Coconut Oil

2 Squares of the chocolate of your choice (for melting)

(Today I used 72% Dark Chocolate but it would be amazing using milk or white chocolate!)

1/2 Teaspoon of Natural Vanilla Extract

For the topping

1 square of chocolate (chopped)

Small handful of almonds (chopped)

Directions 

1) Peel and de-pit your avocado and throw in in the blender (I find hand held blenders work better for this mousse as you struggle to get the same smooth consistency when using a normal blender) 

2) Add your cocoa, honey, coconut oil, vanilla essence and blend until smooth.

3) Now melt your chocolate in a pan and add to mixture.

4) Stir all together then scrape your mousse out into the bowl of your choice, cover it with your toppings and then with clingfilm and whack it in the freezer for at least half an hour… I leave it in around an hour so it goes more like ice cream! :)

Enjoy! :)

I will leave you with a photo of our cat Oscar, who thinks he’s a dog and our dog Betty that looks more like a cat! :D Cutest things in the world! But seriously Oscar… a bone?? Is there nothing you won’t attempt to eat?! :)

12 thoughts on “(Nearly) Raw Vegan Chocolate Mousse!

  1. Oh, MY gosh. That looks so amazing! I wish I had avocado because I would be all over making that! Figures I just finished mine off the other night :( I’ll just have to live vicariously through you until I can get to the store and make some of my own ;)

Leave a Reply

