Best Foot Link Up

Bestfoot This Week Link Up

Hi everyone, you ready for another edition of ‘Best Foot’? Each week a group of bloggers get together (in the internet sense of the word) and celebrate the ways in which we kicked some serious arse and put our best feet forward the week before.

Big thanks, as always, to the lovely hosts – Krsyten, Amanda and Ericka

I had a pretty good week last week, it was a little light on the swimming but I felt like it was major breakthroughs for everything else! My heart rate has finally dropped by about 10 beats on workouts that are the same, if not a little harder in duration and intensity! Score! I feel like maybe all the hard work I have been putting in is paying off and it has definitely given me an extra little push of motivation to keep going. To keep striving for progress.

So let’s get to it!

Monday – I did a good solid 90 minute run today. I was supposed to do it on Sunday with Luke but he came down with a bit of a bug and wasn’t feeling up to it so I took that as my cue to play nurse for the day and enjoy the extra rest. Anyhoo the run ended up consisting of about 9 laps of a short loop, pretty close to home. Some might say I’m crazy subjecting myself to such repetitive torture but I honestly don’t mind it, it allows me to really figure out and push my pace, knowing that a certain part is fast or tough or whatever, it’s really easy to get into a groove.

Tuesday – 60 min swimming, great session as always! Don’t know what I’d do without this group or our wonderful coach! Learn something new each session!

Wednesday – Was a ‘two a day’

  1. Morning – Woke up super early before uni and got in a turbo interval session totalling 66 minutes.
  2. Afternoon – Short and sweet run with a friend before enjoying a lovely dinner and a few well earned glasses of vino. The run was 30 minutes with 10 x 1 min fast efforts. This one felt awesome, effortless even! Guess it’s nice to throw some short runs in every now and again to see how far you’ve come.

Thursday – Missed swimming today as I had some stuff to do before uni and knew I wouldn’t have the time – bummer. I did get in a good hour on the turbo though in the evening.

Friday – This was my day off and the weather was awesome so I decided to devote the day to training and got in a good solid 3 workouts!

  1. 60 minute run with 5 x 1km fast efforts (4:30m/km). I shared this workout here.
  2. 50 minute swim – kept this pretty easy, wasn’t as great as I’d hoped but just wanted to get in the pool really.
  3. Finally a turbo ‘Hills’ workout. All climbing based intervals, brilliant short and sweet workout! I shared it here.

Saturday – I was working today but I did get up early and get a good quality 2 hour session done on the turbo. I split it into 30 minute segments and built from easy to hard to hardest! This one felt great! Heart rate stayed low despite moving into the big gears whilst still keeping a pretty high cadence. If only all sessions could feel like this, hey! ;)

Sunday – Was not feeling motivated at all today but the weather was beautiful and I had a long run on the plan, so I sucked it up and headed out. Ended up having an awesome run! I made sure that there was a fair bit of incline and I focused on keeping my pace steady and not stopping at the top of hills, instead using the downhills as recovery. Again this one felt easy breezy but my pace was great (for me) and I negative split all the way home to just under 12 miles! Whoop!

This week marks the start of a new training block so let’s hope it goes as smoothly although something tells me I will be finding things a little tougher this time around! ;)

How did you put your best foot forward last week, I’d love to hear!

Lots of love,

              BlogSignoff

2 thoughts on “Best Foot Link Up

Leave a Reply

